AES (Rijndael)

Key size:
128 bit   192 bit   256 bit

Encryption from text to base64. Decryption from base64 to text. Key - text.

Advanced Encryption Standard (AES), also known by its original name Rijndael, is a specification for the encryption of electronic data. data created by the national Institute of standards and technology (NIST) in 2001.

AES is a subset of the Rijndael cipher developed by two Belgian cryptographers, Vincent Rayman and Joan Daemen, who submitted a proposal to NIST during the AES selection process. Rijndael is a family of ciphers with different key and block sizes.

For AES, NIST chose three members of the Rijndael family, each having a block size of 128 bits, but three different key lengths: 128, 192 and 256 bits.

AES has been adopted by the U.S. government and is now used worldwide. It replaces the data encryption Standard (des), which was published in 1977. The algorithm described by AES is a symmetric key algorithm, meaning the same key is used for both encryption and decryption.

AES entered into force as a Federal government standard on may 26, 2002 after approval by the Minister of Commerce. AES is included in the ISO/IEC 18033-3. AES is available in many different encryption packages and is the first (and only) publicly available encryption approved by the national security Agency (NSA) for top secret information when used in NSA-approved cryptographic module (see security of AES, below).